The Rugby Championship 2023: fixtures, results, how to watch and latest odds – The Telegraph

A last minute try from Juan Martín González gave Argentina a shock victory over Australia in the second round of the Rugby Championship.

The Pumas have beaten Australia in successive tests for the first time, both masterminded by former Wallabies manager Michael Cheika. Argentina won 48-17 in San Juan last August before Dave Rennie was sacked as coach and replaced by Eddie Jones after an unsuccessful spring tour of Europe.

Jones is faced with the possibility of taking the Wallabies to France to rugby world cup without a win unless Australia can bounce back in either of their two Bledisloe Cup matches against New Zealand and a warm-up against France next month.

What are the Rugby Championship matches?

Round one (Saturday July 8)

Second round (Saturday July 15)

round three (Saturday July 29)

  • Australia v New Zealand, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne (10:45am)
  • South Africa v Argentina, Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg (4:05 p.m.)

How can I watch the Rugby Championship?

Viewers in the UK can watch all six Rugby Championship matches live on Sky Sports Action. Subscribers can stream the action via the Sky Go app.

What is the format of the Rugby Championship 2023?

Traditionally, the Championship would feature 12 games, with each nation playing at home and away against each of the other three. However, with the Rugby World Cup starting on September 8, the Rugby Championship has been shortened.

In a month-long competition, each nation will play each other just once to allow enough rest before the world main event.

Who’s in the squads?

*players previously without caps


Forwards (26): Eduardo Bello, Ignacio Calles, Thomas Gallo, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Santiago Medrano, Joel Sclavi, Lucio Sordoni, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Mayco Vivas, Facundo Bosch, Agustín Creevy, Julián Montoya (c), Santiago Socino, Ignacio Ruiz, Matías Alemanno, Lucas Paulos, Guido Petti, Tomás Lavannini, Marcos Kremer, Pedro Rubiolo, Juan Martín González, Santiago Grondona, Facundo Isa, Pablo Matera, Joaquín Oviedo, Rodrigo Bruni.

Backups (22): Lautaro Bazán Vélez, Gonzalo Bertranou, Tomás Cubelli, Gonzalo García, Tomás Albornoz, Santiago Carreras, Nicolás Sánchez, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Santiago Chocobares, Lucio Cinti, Luciano González, Matías Moroni, Matías Orlando, Martín Bogado, Sebastián Cancelliere, Mateo Carreras , Santiago Cordero, Bautista Delguy, Juan Imhoff, Rodrigo Isgró, Emiliano Boffelli, Juan Cruz Mallía


Forwards (18): Allan Alaalatoa, Richie Arnold, Matt Faessler, Nick Frost, Matt Gibbon, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper, Tom Hooper, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Zane Nonggorr, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Jordan Uelese , Rob Valetini.

Backups (16): Quade Cooper, Lalakai Foketi, Carter Gordon, Reece Hodge, Len Ikitau, Marika Koroibete, Ryan Lonergan, Tate McDermott, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Tom Wright, Ben Donaldson, Josh Kemeny, Dylan Pietsch.

South Africa

Forwards (24): Thomas du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, Joseph Dweba, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Jean Kleyn, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi, Evan Roos, Kwagga Smith, Marco van Staden, Duane Vermeulen, Jasper Wiese, Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert, Jean-Luc du Preez.

Backups (17): Faf de Klerk, Jaden Hendrikse, Herschel Jantjies, Cobus Reinach, Grant Williams, Manie Libbok, Handre Pollard, Damian Willemse, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Cheslin Kolbe, Willie Le Roux, Makazol Mapimpi, Canan Moodie.

New Zealand

Forwards (20): Codie Taylor, Dane Coles, Samisoni Taukei’aho, Ethan de Groot, Fletcher Newell, Nepo Laulala, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Tamaiti Williams*, Tyrel Lomax, Brodie Retallick, Josh Lord, Samuel Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Tupou Vaa’i, Ardie Savea, Dalton Papali’i, Luke Jacobson, Sam Cane, Samipeni Finau*, Shannon Frizell.

Backups (16): Aaron Smith, Finlay Christie, Cam Roigard*, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Richie Mo’unga, Anton Lienert-Brown, Jordie Barrett, Rieko Ioane, Braydon Ennor, Dallas McLeod*, Caleb Clarke, Emoni Narawa*, Leicester Fainga’anuku , Mark Telea, Will Jordan.

What are the best of the latest odds?

  • New Zealand 8/15
  • South Africa 11/2
  • Australian 1/16
  • Argentine 100/1

Odds correct as of July 16

Source link

Ellis Wilder

Hey there! My name is Ellis Wilder, and I'm a student at the University of Calgary. When I'm not hitting the books, you can usually find me writing articles for sports and travel blogs. I've always had a passion for exploring new places and experiencing different cultures, so I love sharing my travel stories with others. Whether I'm hiking in the Rocky Mountains or exploring a new city, I always try to capture the essence of the places I visit in my writing. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy reading my articles as much as I enjoy writing them!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button