Chippewa Soccer reloads roster; Depth Key to CMU in 2023 – Central Michigan University Chippewas

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. —Central Michigan University Soccer enters the 2023 tour with 34 Chippewas, 19 of which will grace the Maroon and Gold for the first time.

After recovering from season-ending injuries in 2022, the Chippe made a notable return to the juniors. Jaelyn Dobrowolski, Allison LaPoint and Kerry Northcott.

After starting every game of his career in the top 35, Dobrowolski, the 2020-21 Mid-American Conference Freshman of the Year, had his interrupted season in the top eight in 2022 after racking up five points and a winner. of the game against the University of Detroit. -Mercy.

LaPoint never made it to the field for the 2022 campaign despite being on guard between the posts for the entire 2021 schedule.

Northcott started his first seven games at CMU after transferring from Western Carolina University before his 2022 season was cut short.

Seven of the 10 players who posted double-digit starts since last season return to the top of the trio, including four who started all 18 contests: elizabeth chlystun, Matilda Melin, Ashley Scesniak and lauren walker.

Eleven of the 19 new Chippewas hail from Michigan, via six transfers and five freshmen, bringing the program’s total to 17 in-state student-athletes. California leads five states in having multiple representatives with four, ahead of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and Colorado with two each.

Meeting Guided Tours

There are three instances of former teammates reuniting under the Central Michigan banner for the 2023 season through the offseason rotation:

The Essexville Trio: Walker welcomes a transfer sophomore teagan betzold and freshman bayne davis as a trio of representatives from Garber High School from Essexville, Michigan. All three were part of multiple league championships with the Bay Area Soccer Association.

Not the journey, but the destination: A pair of incoming young transfers from Evergreen, Colo., Jocelin Zimmerer and myla stewart, graduated from Evergreen High School in 2021 after decorated careers. They both chose the Midwest for their college careers, the University of Miami (OH) and Western Illinois University, respectively, but found a new home together in Mount Pleasant.

won’t go it alone: From Grand Rapids, Forest Hills Northern High School graduates Caitlin Gil and emma dehaan they will join the Chippewas for their first college season. including junior addie brownthis trio joins Forest Hills Northern with Garber for the most representatives from the same high school playing for Central Michigan this season.

The portal raffle

The 12 incoming transfers come from different shows from last season. Three come from members of the Ohio Valley Conference (OVC), two from enemies of the Mid-American Conference:

Pipeline from OVC to CMU: Three transfer newcomers head to Mount Pleasant from OVC members: little jenna from Eastern Illinois University, Libby Van Wagnen from Morehead State University (KY) and brooke carroll from the University of Tennessee-Martin. The trio have combined to log over 3,000 minutes over the last two seasons through a combined 67 appearances.

Back to MAC: Zimmerer and graduate transfer claudia muessig each chose Central Michigan to remain in the MAC. Zimmerer spent the previous two seasons with the Miami (OH) RedHawks, while Muessig graduated from Northern Illinois University with a three-year athletic career under his belt.

A new continent represented: Second year student Shivani Battaglia becomes the third international player on CMU’s roster, coming to Mount Pleasant from Perth, Australia via Seminole State College (OK). melin and emily penny (Cambridge, Ontario) represent returning foreigners, though Penney’s commute to campus is shorter than all Chippewas from other states and even Michigan native redshirt freshmen. Brooke Bittinger (Iron Mountain, Michigan).

Welcome aboard…

For complete biographical information on each of the 19 newcomers, follow the links embedded in the names listed or visit the 2023 list available at

The seven true freshmen are listed below, alphabetically, with linked biographies:

The 12 incoming transfers are listed below, in alphabetical order, with linked biographies:

  • dani barzowski (Prospect Heights, Ill. / Maine South) from the Univ. of Wis.-Milwaukee
  • Shivani Battaglia (Perth, Australia / Home School) from Seminole State College (OK)
  • teagan betzold (Essexville, Michigan / Garber) from the University of Rochester (MI)
  • brooke carroll (Laguna Niguel, Calif. / Aliso Niguel) from the Univ. of Tennessee-Martin
  • little jenna (Portage, Mich./Central Portage) from Eastern Illinois University
  • Cece Mernatti (St. Clair Shores, Mich. / Lakeview) from Schoolcraft College (MI)
  • claudia muessig (Paw Paw, Michigan / Paw Paw) from Northern Illinois University
  • myla stewart (Evergreen, Colo./Evergreen) from Western Illinois University
  • Libby Van Wagnen (Jackson, Mich. / Jackson) from Morehead State University (KY)
  • lily wilson (McCordsville, Indiana/Mount Vernon) from Bellarmine University (KY)
  • Jocelin Zimmerer (Evergreen, Colo./Evergreen) from the University of Miami (OH)

The 2023 campaign begins with exhibition games against the University of Illinois-Chicago (August 10) and Delta College (August 13), with the home regular season opener scheduled against Wright State on August 27. The full schedule can be found at, or at the links above.

Source link

Ellis Wilder

Hey there! My name is Ellis Wilder, and I'm a student at the University of Calgary. When I'm not hitting the books, you can usually find me writing articles for sports and travel blogs. I've always had a passion for exploring new places and experiencing different cultures, so I love sharing my travel stories with others. Whether I'm hiking in the Rocky Mountains or exploring a new city, I always try to capture the essence of the places I visit in my writing. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy reading my articles as much as I enjoy writing them!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button